IPL 2020: David Warner Is Back As the Sunrisers Hyderabad Captain!

Publish On: 27 Feb, 2020 02:21 PM | Updated   |   Harshita  

NEW DELHI: The three times Orange cap winner in the Indian Premier League (IPL), Australia's top batsman David Warner has been reinstated as the captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH). 

Warner had missed the 2018 tournament following his infamous controversy of Sandpaper Gate after which Cricket Australia had imposed a year's ban on the batsman. The board also said that he would not be considered for the post of the captain to lead the Australian team. 

Also Read: BCCI Announces IPL 2020 Schedule! Check Here

He did return to IPL 2019 in the SRH team but was not chosen as the captain and had to play under the leadership of New Zealand's Kane Williamson. The 2018 SRH team, however, was led by Indian pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar. 

The official handle of SRH posted a message of their captain who was thrilled to be chosen for the captaincy. In his message, he said, "I'm thrilled to be given the captaincy for IPL 2020. I'm extremely grateful to be given the opportunity to lead the team once again. I'd like to thank Kane and Bhuvi (Bhuvneshwar Kumar) for the way you guys led throughout the last couple of years, you guys did an outstanding job. And I'll be leaning on you guys for support and your insight to the game as well. And to the management thank you once again for giving me this opportunity. And I'll try my very, very best to lifting that IPL trophy this year."

The Australian batsman has played four seasons for the Hyderabad team and finished three tournaments with Orange cap (Orange cap is given to that batsman who scores the highest runs in the whole tournament). His score for the four seasons has remained 562, 848, 642 and 692. With a total of 4706 runs from 126 IPL matches, Warner is on the fourth in the list of highest run-getters. He is behind the Indian batsmen Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina and Rohit Sharma. 

Also Read: Tennis Champion Maria Sharapova Announces Her Retirement

The team will first face the last champions Mumbai Indian in the IPL 13 on April 1st at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium.