Japan To Prohibit Entry Of People Belonging To Any Of These 73 Countries

Publish On: 31 Mar, 2020 04:29 PM | Updated   |   Madhurima  

TOKYO: Japan has declared that it is banning entry of the people belonging to the countries which comprise more than one-third of the entire world. The list also includes the name of the united states of America. This is being done to stop the spread of COVID-19 which has been declared a global pandemic.

The Japenese government has disapproved of travel in about 73 countries during the time when novel coronavirus is increasing at such a steep rate all over the world. 

Also Read: COVID-19: Countries Complain About Quality Of Equipment Made In China

The travel alert has been raised to level 3 (out of 4), and the government has been advising the people of Japan to avoid travel in certain areas at any cost.

The alert was only for 24 countries when the government revised it and added 49 other locations to it on Tuesday, 31 March. The list now includes countries like US, Canada, South Korea, China, Ecuador, the Dominican Republic, Chile, Panama, Brazil, Bolivia, the UK and Greece. Japan will not allow individuals hailing from these areas to enter the country unless they are Japenese. Foreign Minister Toshimitsu Motegi declared at a press conference.

It has not yet been specified when the entry veto will begin.

After the addition of 49 more countries, the list now contains 73 countries whose people are not allowed to enter Japan. Spain, Italy, Germany, France, Australia and Iran are some other countries which are on the list.

Even the residents who have travelled in these countries are now subject to entry restrictions.

Also Read: US COVID-19 Case Surge To 164,274, Testing Reaches 1 Million

Rest of the countries have maintained an alert of level 2, which highly discourages non-necessary and unurgent trips.