India VS West Indies T20I: Shikhar Dhawan's Injury Gives Way To Sanju Samson In The Series

Publish On: 27 Nov, 2019 05:16 PM | Updated   |   Harshita  

NEW DELHI: India's opener Shikhar Dhawan has been ruled out of the upcoming T20I series against West Indies due to knee injury. This opened the gates for Sanju Samson, who was dropped out of the team without even getting one chance against Bangladesh in the recent series.

Dhawan is suffering from a deep cut on his left knee during a Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 game against Maharashtra in Surat. The left-handed batsman dived on the field and thus had this injury. For the same, he needed to visit the hospital and now is recovering from it. 

Also Read: Suresh Raina Turns 33: Twitter Flooded With Wishes For Chinna Thala!

Thus, Dhawan had to be ruled out from the upcoming 3-match T20I series and as his replacement, Sanju Samson joined the squad. In a statement, BCCI said, "Dhawan suffered a deep cut on his left knee during a Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy game against Maharashtra in Surat. The BCCI Medical Team assessed him on Tuesday to review the healing of his wound. The BCCI Medical Team has suggested that Dhawan needs some more time for his stitches to come off and his wound to heal completely. The All-India Senior Selection Committee has named Sanju Samson as Dhawan’s replacement for the T20I series."

Samson earlier made it into the team in the recent 3-match T20I series against Bangladesh but failed to make a spot in the playing eleven. Later, he was also dropped from the team for this upcoming series against West Indies and the decision was highly criticised by the fans and the cricket fraternity. But now, the batsman-wicketkeeper got the much-needed opportunity to prove his credentials.  

Also Read: India VS West Indies 2019: Sanju Samson Out And Rishabh Pant In! Fans Question The Decision

Thus finally the Indian squad for the series starting from 6th December to be played on the Indian turf includes: Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma (VC), KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (WK), Shivam Dube, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Deepak Chahar, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Ravindra Jadeja.