ICC Awards: Virat Kohli And Rohit Sharma Win Big; Full List Of Winners!

Publish On: 15 Jan, 2020 03:20 PM | Updated   |   Harshita  

ICC announced the winners of its awards for the year 2019 on Wednesday. While India’s opener Rohit Sharma won the 2019 ODI Cricketer of the year, captain Virat Kohli was honored with the 2019 Spirit of Cricket award.

Rohit Sharma was undoubtedly in an excellent form in the gone-by year. He became the first batsman to have smashed five big centuries in a single edition of World Cup. Scoring big numbers, he ended the year with a total of seven ODI centuries. 

On receiving the award, Rohit said, “I would like to thank the ICC for giving me this award and the BCCI for giving me the opportunity to represent the country. It is great to be recognized in this fashion. We are very happy with the way we performed as a team in 2019. We could have done better but we have a lot of positives and a lot to look forward to in 2020.”

Also Read: PM Modi To Skip Khelo India Youth Games 2020's Opening Ceremony

Virat was awarded the Spirit of Cricket award because of his sweet gesture of asking the fans to applaud Steve Smith rather than booing him during a match in the World Cup 2019. 

Ben Stokes, England’s all-rounder, won the most prestigious award Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the ICC player of the year. 

Here is the full list of ICC award winners: 

  • Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the player of the year: Ben Stokes (England)
  • ODI Cricketer of the year: Rohit Sharma (India)
  • Test Cricketer of the Year: Pat Cummins (Australia)
  • Spirit of Cricket Award – Virat Kohli (India)
  • T20I Performance of the Year – Deepak Chahar (India, 6-7 v Bangladesh)
  • Associate Cricketer of the Year – Kyle Coetzer (Scotland)
  • Emerging Cricketer of the Year – Marnus Labuschagne (Australia)
  • David Shepherd Trophy for Umpire of the Year – Richard Illingworth

Besides, ICC also announced the XI players making the 2019 team of the year: Mayank Agarwal (India), Tom Latham (New Zealand), Marnus Labuschagne (Australia), Virat Kohli (India, C), Steve Smith (Australia), Ben Stokes (England), BJ Watling (New Zealand, wk), Pat Cummins (Australia), Mitchell Starc (Australia), Neil Wagner (New Zealand), Nathan Lyon (Australia).

Also Read: INDvAUS ODI: Australia Starts The Series With Complete Dominance Over India