JMM-Alliance Clinches Jharkhand Throne; BJP Knights Lose Battle

Publish On: 23 Dec, 2019 06:54 PM | Updated   |   Arnima  

Ranchi: The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha-Congress alliance cliched the throne of the state assembly defeating the Bharatiya Janata Party with a comfortable majority mark of 41 in the 81-assembly seat. Jharkhand Mukti Morcha has emerged as the single largest party with Hemant Soren all set to become the Chief Minister of the state.

Outgoing CM Raghubar Das added more wounds to BJP's injury as he stood defeated from the Jamshedpur seat while JMM's Heman Soren won both the Barhait and the Dumka seats he was contesting from.

Soren is all set to stake claim for the CM post in the state. Expressing gratitude towards former Jharkhand CM Shibu Soren and his alliance leaders Lalu Prasad Yadav, Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi, Soren stated, "The people of Jharkhand have given a clear mandate and I am grateful to them."

It is to be mentioned that the JMM had contested the polls in an alliance with the Congress and the Rashtriya Janata Dal while the BJP decided to be the alone knight in the battlefield. It was the first time that the saffron party had decided to go to the polls all alone since the creation of Jharkhand in the year 2000. It had always contested with the AJSU but the two parties failed to come over the same grounds on the number of seats each of them wanted to contest this time. Several BJP leaders continued to trail and later lost the battle including Raj Paliwar and Speaker of the outgoing assembly Dinesh Oraon.

Talking about the poll and the assembly, a party or a coalition needed 41 seats for a simple majority in the 81 seat assembly of the state. This has been attained by the alliance.