Shahitya Akademi Awards Winners Declared : Shashi Tharoor Wins Along With 22 Others

Publish On: 19 Dec, 2019 07:02 PM | Updated   |   Madhurima  

Renowned politician and author Shashi Tharoor and famous playwright Nand Kishore Acharya are amidst 23 other writers who got facilitated by the Sahitya Akademi Award of 2019.

The Sahitya Akademi Award is considered a literary honour in the nation. India’s National Academy of Letters, Sahitya Akademi bestows the writers of the most exceptional books of the literary excellence once a year. These books could be in any of the 24 languages which are spoken in our country, 22 of them are also mentioned in the 8th Schedule of the Indian Constitution. These 24 languages are Assamese, Bengali, Bodo, Dogri, English, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Maithili, Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepali, Odia, Punjabi, Rajasthani, Sanskrit, Santhali, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu, Urdu.

The national academy of letters announced the name of the winning candidates on 18th December, 2019.

Whilst Shashi Tharoor’s book ‘An Era of Darkness’ won in the English category, Acharya won in the Hindi category for his book of poetry, ‘Chheelatey Hue Apne Ko’. Poets Phukan Ch. Basumatary (Bodo), Nand Kishore Acharya (Hindi), Niba A Khandekar (Konkani), Kumar Manish Arvind (Maithili), V Madhusoodanan Nair (Malayalam), Anuradha Patil (Marathi) and Penna Madhusudan (Sanskrit) got recognised for their work in the aforementioned languages.

Novelists Joysree Goswami Mahanta (Assamese), L Birmangol Singh (Manipuri), Cho Dharman (Tamil) and Bandi Narayan Swami (Telugu) will also receive awards.

 The writers who won within the short story category include, Abdul Ahad Hajini (Kashmiri), Tarun Kanti Mishra (Odia), Kripal Kazak (Punjabi), Ramswaroop Kisan (Rajasthani), Kali Charan Hembram (Santali) and Ishwar Moorjani (Sindhi).

An engraved copper plate and cash prize of Rs. 1 lakh will be given to the winners at a ceremony on 25th February, 2020 which will be organised in Delhi.