New Containment Zones Added In Delhi; Total 93 Zones Now

Publish On: 23 May, 2020 03:03 PM | Updated   |   Madhurima  

NEW DELHI: Around 13 new containment zones were declared in the capital city, Delhi on Friday, May 22. The total containment zones in the city are now 92, as per the government there.

There was a spike in the cases as over 2,200 new cases got detected in the past 4 days consecutively.

Also Read: Over 1.15 Lakh Samples Tested For COVID-19 In Last 24 Hrs: ICMR

Apart from this, 34 zones have also been de-contained after thorough observation, as per the government data shared on Friday, May 22. It mentioned about 79 containment zones in total, in which 13 new zones got added later on, taking up the total to 92 zones.

As per the government, 6 new zones were announced in the South West region and 5 in the north. 

A total of 17 containment zones each have been observed in Noth and East districts both.

As far as the South district is concerned, 16 red zones got announced within in. 

There are 8 zones each in both North West and Central districts.

In the North-East district, there is a total of 5 zones. Whereas the district in Shahdara has 6 zones.

In the district of New Delhi, there are merely 3 red zones.

Also Read: COVID-19: Biggest Spike In India As 6,654 New Cases Got Reported In 24 Hrs

There are currently more than 12,319 cases in the national capital of the country. In the past 24 hours, as much as 786 new cases got reported within the region.