INDvNZ: Mayank Replaces Rohit In ODIs; Prithvi And Ishant In Test Team

Publish Date: 05 Feb, 2020 09:45 AM   |   Harshita  

MUMBAI: The Indian Test squad for the two-Test series against New Zealand has been announced. Prithvi Shaw makes it to the Test team along with Ishant Sharma but is subjected to fitness clearance because of injuring his ankle in a Ranji Trophy match for Delhi.

With Rohit Sharma being ruled out of the ODIs and Tests due to a calf injury, Mayank Agarwal has been named as his replacement in the ODI squad.

"Rohit sustained a left calf muscle strain during the fifth T20I against New Zealand at Tauranga on Sunday. He underwent an MRI scan in Hamilton on Monday. The opening batsman has been ruled out of the upcoming ODI and the Test series and will be referred to the National Cricket Academy for further management of his injury," the BCCI release stated.

"The senior selection committee has named Mayank Agarwal in the ODI squad as Rohit's replacement."

Navdeep Saini has also been named in the squad which sees Shubman Gill also making the cut thanks to some impressive scores in the India 'A' games against New Zealand 'A'.

India's Test squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Mohd Shami, Navdeep Saini, Ishant Sharma (subject to fitness clearance).